September Wrap-Up 2016

corner1

Hello everyone! I honestly can’t believe how fast the month of September went, nevertheless, I’m so excited for October! The weather is always perfect, Halloween is coming, the nights start to get darker earlier and it’s my birthday near the end of the month! I’m hoping October will be a great reading month too as I’m planning to read quite a few books šŸ™‚

Anyway, the month of September was such a great reading month. I managed to read 7 books – more than double of how many I read in August! All the books I did read, I enjoyed a lot so I can’t wait to tell you what they were and my thoughts on each.

So here we go –


51a2pe47cpl-_sx324_bo1204203200_


Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

My rating: 5 stars.

My thoughts: This was SO SO good. I read Throne Of Glass for the first time in August and I couldn’t resist continuing on with the series in September. I absolutely loved Throne of Glass, and I loved this one too ( maybe even more! ). This book was just as packed with surprises, action and that guilty pleasure love triangle. Sarah J. Maas seriously is a literature and plot genius, I can’t wait to continue with the next book soon.

 


514rhkqdgvl-_sx330_bo1204203200_


My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick 

My rating: 4.5 stars

My thoughts: This was such a lovely and cute contemporary. I admit, it did take me around 70 or 80 pages to get into it but once I was fully immersed in the story, I loved it! I had heard so many good things about this book beforehand and I can definitely see why. I think it’s a great young adult contemporary/romance to read if you read that genre regularly – or if you’re just starting out on reading genres such as those, then this book is perfect for you.


51f3-vt-utl
If I Stay by Gayle Forman

My rating: 4 stars.

My thoughts: I read the majority of this in this car taking my sister back to university and it was definitely such a different book. I knew what the plot of this book was and I could tell what the outcome of the situation was going to be yet I still thoroughly enjoyed it. However, this book was more informative and something that makes you think rather than a fluffy contemporary. It deals with such a life-changing situation from a completely different and chilling perspective, which made me appreciate those around me so much more. I don’t think anyone would want to be in Mia’s ( the protagonist’s ) place yet I’m glad I read the book as it was so incredibly moving. I’m definitely looking to pick up the sequel to this book – Where She Went, soon.


ttf


The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee

My rating: 4.5 stars

My thoughts: This book was nothing like I expected, yet at the same time it was. Don’t worry, I’m just as confused as you. I heard so many things previously about this book having a Gossip Girl vibe – which I definitely felt. However, I didn’t expect the book to be so futuristic and didn’t expect what happened at the end, or should I say who had something happen to them šŸ˜‰ I don’t want to mention any specifics as I don’t want to spoil the book for anyone who hasn’t read it, I was just definitely shocked as I expected it to be someone else throughout the entire book. I put up a review for this book a few weeks ago so I’ll link that here if you’re interested šŸ™‚


960_large
Persuasion by Jane Austen

My rating: 3.5 stars.

My thoughts: Jane Austen never seems to fail me with her elegant writing, it puts me in such a trance whilst reading, taking me back to a time that I clearly wasn’t able to witness for myself. I admit, I didn’t enjoy this as much as Pride & Prejudice, and yes, I know they’re completely separate books but I just feel like nothing happened plot-wise in comparison. I did love the protagonist ( Anne ) and the expected romance, I just feel like she wasn’t involved in things as much as I would’ve liked her to be – she seemed to just stand by and either be admired or admire others. Nevertheless, I did enjoy it and I’m going to be  reading yet another one of Austen’s works during October – Northanger Abbey, for the Austentatious book club, so I’m excited to see what I think of it.


Glass-Sword-High-Res.jpg

Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

My rating: 5 stars.

My thoughts: Oh my… so incredible. I have to admit, it took me 100 pages or so to fully get into this, but I think the reason of that is because I read Red Queen at the beginning of the year, and if you’ve read it you’ll know the ending is something ‘special’. So getting back into this richly descriptive world after that, was definitely a task – but ohhhh was it worth it. Victoria Aveyard is slowly but surely becoming one of my all-time favourite authors, I have no idea how she whips out these dramatic scenes and plot twists without me ever expecting it. Now, I’m preparing myself for the third book in this series to be released in February 2017 and I can already tell it will not disappoint šŸ™‚


27362503

It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

My rating: 4.5 stars

My thoughts: I was sent this book for review by a company called SocialBookCo and I’m so glad as I enjoyed and appreciated it and storyline so much. I don’t want to ramble on about the book for too long as I will be putting up a full separate review for it next week, however, this book was definitely something special. This was my first time reading a Colleen Hoover book and I’ve honestly never read anything like it or on the topic that it deals with, but I found it so moving, so heartbreaking and so informative. Again, a full review will be going up soon so I won’t go into detail as to why I loved it so much but I’ll just say that this will not be the last Colleen Hoover book I read šŸ™‚


 

So there you have it – they’re all the books I read in the month of September šŸ™‚ Personally, I think I had such a great reading month and I hope you all did too. I can’t wait to read more in October as I have some exciting books lined up.

If you’ve read any of the books mentioned, I would love to hear what you thought of them too! And if you’re planning to read any of these books, hopefully I’ve motivated you to read them sooner šŸ™‚

Have a lovely day and thank you always for reading.

loveaimee

4 thoughts on “September Wrap-Up 2016

  1. You had such a great reading month! I’ll be reading The Thousandth Floor next so I can’t wait for that – all your talking of it has made me excited šŸ™‚ Hope October is just as good to you!

    Like

  2. So good to know you had a good month!
    I’m soo happy you are loving the Throne of Glass series, it’s one of my faves and I loove it!!
    The Thousandth Floor seems so interesting!
    I gave the same rating to Persuasion, I have to agree that I enjoyed a lot more Pride and Prejudice though one of the main problems for me was the main character. Anyway, as you said I’m excited for Northanger Abbey!
    I have heard such great things about It Ends with Us but I haven’t been brave enough to read it….yet
    Hope you have a great October!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment